Asking for help…

You know those times when you ring your Dad and he moans you only ever get in touch to ask for something? Well, this is like one of those times, except I’m asking my lovely followers. I know I haven’t written anything for a while. Motherhood and work have taken over my life. I’m soon going freelance, and that should free time up for blogging. But more on that another time. Right now there are people who need your help.

For weeks I had been wanting to do something for the refugees we have been hearing so much about. This week just gone my friend told me she was going to go to Keleti train station in Hungary this week to help out with the kids area, so I donated some money and arranged to give her some supplies to take with her. I wished I could drive over there with more supplies, but it wasn’t possible for me. I decided instead I would send items there by courier. I set up a GoFundMe page to raise money for the postage costs, and set up a Facebook page to arrange collecting items in my locality.

Refugee kids at their tent blowing bubbles

So far the campaign is doing really well, I’ve reached £415 (at time of writing), and Gail at The Crib in Southport (who very kindly offered to be a drop off point) has sent me this picture of the donations she has received so far:

Bags of donations waiting at The Crib

I would just like to give this campaign an extra little push, so I can get to (or exceed!) my target. The donations will be split between Hungary, Turkey and Greece. I am keeping my eye on the situation in each place I have a (confirmed) address for, so that I know what is needed most where and the donations can be efficiently distributed. There are many families in these areas and more coming every day escaping the horrors of their homeplaces. The other day I saw this website. A 3 year old drew a picture of a man lying on the floor bleeding a bombs being dropped. No 3 year old should even know what that looks like. Please help if you can x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,208 other followers

  • Follow Linziloop on WordPress.com
  • Find me on Facebook!

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Flickr Photos

  • Find past Linziloop blog posts

  • Find Me @ BritMums
