The beginning of something very new

It’s been a busy few months, hence the severe lack of blogging, but I have a feeling I might have a bit more time, at least for the next few weeks, to write some posts. I’ve just started my maternity leave! With 4 weeks to go until the baby’s due date, I intend to make the most of this time! I officially started my leave on Thursday, but that was my 30th birthday so I would have booked the day off anyway, and who wants to go back on on a Friday after a day off, so I had that off too. Then there was a weekend of celebrating with friends, so today is the first day it’s really hit home – I’m not going to be in work for an entire year, and in just a few shorts weeks there’s going to be a little person in this house! Eeek!

I haven’t had as much time to complete that crochet baby blanket I was working on as I would have liked so hopefully I can make a really good go of getting that done now, and then I can move onto hats and booties and other baby items I’m just itching to get made. Here’s how the blanket is looking so far though:

Crochet Baby Blanket in Progress

Granny Stripe Baby Blanket Multi Coloured

It’s really eating up the yarn, I may have to get more! A trip to the yarn shop is always a dangerous prospect, so many pretty things and so much temptation! Maybe I should leave the house with ONLY the money needed to buy the yarn for the blanket and nothing else, that sounds like a sensible plan!

If you’ve had a baby, what did you get up to on your maternity leave? I plan to make lots of things and spend time seeing friends, I’m convinced once the baby comes along I’ll still be able to make things but people tell me otherwise – more like I won’t even have time to get to the shop to buy a loaf of bread. We shall see!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,213 other followers

  • Follow Linziloop on WordPress.com
  • Find me on Facebook!

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Flickr Photos

    One #handmade toddler pirate costume complete!

    One pair of toddler harem trousers complete :D #canttouchthis #handmade

    24 cuddly toys & dolls. That's just what is downstairs. There's more upstairs. Theres nearly 2 for every month she's been on the planet if you count them all! #toomuchstuff

    More Photos
  • Find past Linziloop blog posts

  • Find Me @ BritMums
