Baby Blanket

Following the announcement that I’ll be having a baby in November (don’t know if boy or girl yet!) I thought it might be nice to show you some of the things I will be making! First on my list is a crochet baby blanket, something they will hopefully keep and love and cherish. So, me and Mr Loop went to the local yarn shop, picked some yarn in some wonderful colours, and I got to work! This is the selection of colours we chose:

Rico Baby Classic DK

I decided on a granny stripe pattern and got to work that same day. At the time of writing this I have completed 6 rows, and I did some maths today (OooooOOOOOoooooo, gotta love a bit of maths), and worked out that it will take me about 45 hours to complete. 45 hours! I’m sorry I did the maths now haha! It will totally be worth it though 😀 Picture of progress so far:

Linziloop Crochet baby blanket progress

I’ll be doing a row of light green next, in case you were wondering 🙂 I haven’t worked out the colours, I’m just deciding as I go. So far, so good.

Whilst we were at the yarn shop Mr Loop spotted a lovely little knitted cardigan and asked if I could do something like it…. I had to break it to him that it was knitted and I can’t knit, but then I thought, maybe I should try?! Either that, or find a lovely pattern for a lovely crochet baby cardigan… the search is on. Other ideas for making things include a fleecy hat with ears (baby will be born in winter so cosy things seem rather sensible!), a handmade (possibly from paper) mobile for above their cot, and some scratch mittens.

I shall keep you updated with the ever growing blanket and be sure to show you anything else I make. In the meantime please do feel free to comment and link me to some pictures of things you have made for your kids, I would love to see them!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Love those colors! It’ll be fun and the hours will just fly by! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Pricing handmade items | Linziloop

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,208 other followers

  • Follow Linziloop on WordPress.com
  • Find me on Facebook!

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Flickr Photos

  • Find past Linziloop blog posts

  • Find Me @ BritMums
