A New Venture!

Hi there everyone! It’s been a while since my last post, apologies for that, time just seems to be running away from me at the moment! Is it me or is it like that for everyone?! I have managed to get some stuff done though, which is good, because I hate feeling like I’ve got nothing done, it winds me up! If a day passes where I haven’t ticked something off a list then it makes me feel all anxious. Maybe I should trick myself and write things on the list like “eat breakfast” or “sleep” then I’d tick things off for sure hehe!

The main thing I would like to share with you is something my partner and I have discovered we really like doing together. Now now, don’t let your minds wander off too much, it’s nothing naughty, in fact, it’s as far away from naughty you could possibly get! I picked up some hama beads a few weeks ago and a couple of peg boards, brought them home and we each had a little go, turns out we found it quite enjoyable and therapeutic! Putting the tiny little beads on the board, making your own design up or trying to re-create something, unleashing the iron on the finished piece to set it in place forever – there’s something rather satisfying about the while thing!

However, there are only so many hama bead necklaces, magnets and keyrings one can have before you, well, just have too many! So, we (or rather I) decided we would open up a little Etsy Shop, by the name of Retroid Studio (because the designs look like pixel art, and that’s all retro, and ‘studio’ conjured up ideas of little robots working away for me!) to sell our creations. I took some photos of the first few things we wanted to sell, made up a banner , wrote some descriptions, and voila! What do you think of our creations?!

Pixel Triangle Hama Bead Necklace

Pixel Tribal Inspired Hama Bead Necklace

Pixel Diamond Candy Hama Bead Necklace

Fantasy Ice Spear Blue White Hama Bead Necklace

Cute Kawaii Star Pixel Hama Bead Necklace

Pixel Explosion Hama Bead Necklace

Other than that, I passed my CBT a couple of months ago so I’ve been really enjoying getting to grips with my motorbike (pictured below!) and will do my full test at some point in the next couple of months I reckon. I’m looking into brushing up on my screenprinting skills soon too as I really loved doing that back in my college days, plus it’s really something every graphic designer should do! The Made Here Pop Up Shop is doing well and will be in Liverpool One for a little while yet so if you haven’t had a chance, do get yourself down there! If you have been, then get yourself down there again because they’re getting new wonderful handmade stock in all the time and it’s looking fantastic!

Linziloop on her bike

I’ll be back soon hopefully with some pictures of some sewing I plan on doing, until then, take care xxx

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. bunnybosworth

     /  May 21, 2012

    Loving the new work, I think the hama beads under a hot iron is one of my favourite childhood smells!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,213 other followers

  • Follow Linziloop on WordPress.com
  • Find me on Facebook!

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Flickr Photos

    One #handmade toddler pirate costume complete!

    One pair of toddler harem trousers complete :D #canttouchthis #handmade

    24 cuddly toys & dolls. That's just what is downstairs. There's more upstairs. Theres nearly 2 for every month she's been on the planet if you count them all! #toomuchstuff

    More Photos
  • Find past Linziloop blog posts

  • Find Me @ BritMums
