Folksy Friday – Musically Minded

My Folksy Friday this week is inspired by the fact that I am surrounded by many musically minded people, like my boyfriend who goes by the name Poisoncut, my brother Phil and his girlfriend Selina, Thom who goes by the name Guano Unsane, Kris of the Sacred Media record label, my friends Drut, Chooie, Ryan, the list goes on! It is also Liverpool Sound City week, and my boyfriend bought a Hรถhner Melodica and I took rather a shine to it! So it all seemed rather fitting to pick items on Folksy which related to the music theme, so maybe they will be a great gift for the musically minded people in your life, or for yourself. I hope you enjoy browsing! 

Click on the picture to be taken to the item within the sellers shop.

Holandricon do these super headphone earmuffs in fluffy angora rabbit yarn, i wonder if they would do custom ones for personalising our favourite headphones?! No chance of anyone mistaking yours for theirs then! Available in different design and colours they promise to be as soft as stroking a bunny itself – wonderful! 

It’s hard to pick an ipod cover from Folksy as there are many great ones to choose from. I have featured one or two in previous posts and this is another addition to the ones i really love. I love the retro styling and the fact it is made from leather so will probably outlive your ipod and still be fighting fit for the next one. Marvellous attention to detail with the litttle tag on the back, many more designs are available in Beautiful Skin

This little broach caught my eye because it is so pretty, the fact that it is music related was obviously a bonus this week! Made from old recycled music book pages I wonder how the music sounded? A perfect gift for a music loving lady, especially a music teacher! Pleeeease someone buy it for their music teacher! Hehe! Available from Nellie & Elsie in many different shapes and with different colour thread, this one is my fave but do go investigate the other options!
Fancy a bit of spontaneous music playing? This harmonica necklace by Zara Taylor has a real working harmonica so you can play it wherever you go! Maybe much to the annoyance of passers by if you’re not very good, but if you are good, maybe someone will throw a penny or two your way! And then you could return to Folksy victorious and spend your well earned pennies on more beautiful handmade products. There;s actually a few more pieces in Zara’s shop i wouldn’t mind having myself…hmmmm…
And finally, maybe something for the home? Recycling old vinyl records into bowls seems a good way to make use of something many people just don’t listen to anymore, especially if the record was rubbish, keep the good ones mint, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ Available from BeetleJuice, if you visit their shop you will find more recyled record items such as book ends and clocks. 

That’s it from me for another week, as a little update of what I’ve been up to; I’ve had a few more banner designs to do, a logo and website for both a guitar shop and a vintage clothing shop are in the making, I’m making a lovely set of blonde natural looking dreads to be worn as falls (pictures of them very soon), I’ve been continuing with my pattern cutting and garment construction course at college, going to Stitch n Bitch (soon to have a name change!) on a Wednesday evening at Mello Mello, making a crochet baby blanket for my friend who is due a week today, been working very hard at my full time graphic design job, and trying to fit a social life in around all that! Phew! When i write it down it’s scary! 

I’ve not had a chance to fit designing my blog around that, so do bear with me, the temporary template won’t be around forever xxx



Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Wow! I adore the knitted headphone covers! It is amazing to see what people will think of next!Natalie x

    Reply
  2. What unusual items! That ipod cover is awesome.

    Reply
  3. Great picks as usual! I love the BeetleJuice bowl :o)

    Reply
  4. Lovely, I love that case – very original ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. I like all of these things all a bit vintagey

    Reply
  6. great picks, fluffy ear phones – brilliant!

    Reply
  7. Really love the knitted headphone covers!!Millie

    Reply
  8. I've been thinking of knitting my own ear phone covers, but never got as far as actually doing it. The ones in the picture are awesome! You'd have to have an extra pair for the summer, though..

    Reply
  9. Thankyou so much for the feature! And just to say, yep I do commissions ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love, love, love that ipod cover by Beautiful Skin, my friend has one and I am terribly envious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,208 other followers

  • Follow Linziloop on WordPress.com
  • Find me on Facebook!

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Flickr Photos

  • Find past Linziloop blog posts

  • Find Me @ BritMums
